Many drivers have been in a situation where they have either had their license revoked or suspended. SR22 insurance is needed in most states in order to get back on the road and driving again. In New Hampshire drivers must provide proof that they are properly insured after they have a drunk driving offense.
A driver is usually required to have documentation for three years, but this can also vary depending on the situation. It will also cost drivers another $50 reinstate their driver’s license. This license is restricted and will only allow the driver to drive in specific places.
The punishment for a first offense for drunk driving includes a fine that is between $350 and $2000, up to two years loss of license, and also the driver must participate in a driving school.
The SR22 insurance must not lapse. If the DMV receives any notice that this coverage has lapsed, then they will immediately revoke the driver’s license. In addition to this the DMV can also mandate that the driver participate in community service and have an ignition interlock installed in their car. A lapse in coverage also means that the three-year period starts all over again.
Policies can be purchased from any insurance company licensed in the state of New Hampshire. It is important to make sure you are working with a reputable company that will file your documentation with the state during the three-year period to ensure you don’t run into any problems.