States That Do Not Require SR22

At the time this was written, the following states do NOT require SR-22. Please check with your local state laws to ensure the accuracy of the most current laws:

  • Delaware
  • Kentucky
  • Minnesota
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania

However, if you were issued an SR22 while you were in another state, then you are required to continue the SR22 guidelines (in the state where you received the SR22)

Example A:

Let’s say that you got an SR-22 while you were in Florida, but then you move to Delaware.  In this case, you will need to follow the SR-22 requirements in Florida, until you have completed the full amount of time required by Florida.  You will still get insurance for Delaware, but you will need to continue filing in Florida.

Example B:
Let’s turn the tables now.  Let’s say that while you were living in Delaware, you were issued an SR22.  Then you decide to move to Florida.  Florida will not require you to have an SR22.

You might want to be aware that some states charge to file SR-22’s.