Have you had a DUI or multiple accidents in the state of Tennessee and need SR-22 insurance, then we can help you. Since we work with multiple auto insurance companies in the state of Tennessee we will be able to get you the coverage you require. We can help find you the best and cheapest SR-22 insurance in the state of Tennessee by entering your zip code above, and best of all, the quotes are free and there is no obligation to buy.
The Tennessee Department of safety runs a very strict code of ethics when dealing with its insurance requirements, which seems a bit of an extremity considering the state’s earlier history. Before the year 2001, no one in Tennessee was required to carry insurance of any kind on their vehicle. However, due to the skyrocketing number of driving fatalities and traffic violations it was noted that insuring Tennessee’s drivers was necessary. Between the time of the 1980′s well into the 90′s the death rate for traffic accidents had shot up an overwhelming 72%. State drivers are now required to carry a minimum amount of coverage on liability. Since the turn of the century the state has really cracked down on what it expects out of its drivers. The following is run-down of the minimal requirements for a driver with SR-22 documentation.
Due to such stern requirements for the amount of coverage alone, the state has forged an equally strict policy on its SR-22 requirements. The SR-22 is a written or electronic document that is issued by the Department of Safety in each state to show that an individual is indeed making good on their financial responsibility in order to maintain a record of standing as a driver of that state. The insurance company has a 10-day grace period in which it is to process the appropriate information and provide proof of that individual’s purchase of a liability policy. The document is often times a necessity for the driver who is high at risk to carry especially when they have been involved in accident or have committed any number of traffic violations without reporting them to the proper authorities.
Tennessee’s issues regarding the reasons why a driver would be issued an SR-22 include:
1. If an individual’s license has been reinstated after having been suspended due to the driver who is at fault not owning any insurance.
2. If an individual’s license has been revoked due to his/her first citing for not carrying an SR-22 during their first offense. .
3. If the driver’s license has been reinstated after having been revoked on account of excessive points that count against him/her.
4. If an individual has had their license reissued to them after being suspended from a DUI.
The times during which such a driver might have to produce such a document are during the time that he/she is in an accident or if they are stopped a routine checkpoint. A driver may also have to submit proof of their financial responsibilities when they are registering a new vehicle.
A driver’s lack of willingness to comply with Tennessee’s insurance requirements can very well lead to the suspension of the drivers license on top of a $100 fine. The driver may also be subject to a STOP on their vehicle registration privileges and if this is done the driver might not be able to renew their vehicle or register one ever again. For further information on some of the state of Tennessee’s other state laws and regulations contact the Tennessee Department of Safety.Tagged with: tennessee